This forum is deprecated. Please visit https://github.com/smplayer-dev/smplayer/discussions

Questions about integration with Windows shell context menu

Problems, bugs, suggestions... anything related to SMPlayer.

Questions about integration with Windows shell context menu

Postby DevNull » Thu Jun 06, 2019 4:33 am

I am new to SMPlayer. I am migrating from VLCPlayer after using it for many years.
I am trying to gain an understanding about how SMPlayer integrates with the Windows shell (context menu) to provide the current single menu item of "Enqueue in SMPlayer". My test machine is Win7.64bit but I will also be using KUbuntu and other *nix flavors. I downloaded the latest 64bit portable binaries and the installer. My questions and testing refer to the INSTALLED app, not the portable (although I prefer portable, I had some issues and had concerns about how the app was storing/retrieving some various settings I had trouble getting to work - not really relevant).

Using Options->Preferences->Keyboard I have reviewed the "Name" column for all items which I understand are "actions" that can be sent on the command line. I have also read what I could find about the command line. So question 1 would be - are the actions -ALL- the available actions inclusive? Is EVERY available command listed in that grid I just referenced?
Question 2 is - I am assuming some actions take either a quoted string filename or a quoted string with a comma-delimited list of filenames. Is that correct?

My issue is that I need to modify the system shell context menu so that I can do more than what is currently available: Enqueue to playlist (and nothing more - for example, PLAY the file being enqueued). And second, to "Open" the file in the app by first wiping out the existing playlist and then to play it.
So question 3 is - am I correct that these are the only 2 actions that can be taken from the context menu?